Showing posts with label fix office. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fix office. Show all posts

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Fix it: Spell check does not work in Office 2007

Fix it: Spell check does not work in Office 2007

If your spell check does not work, either in your Office outlook or Office Word, this is what you should do

Step 1 
Go to Office Button > Word options > Proofing > Custome dictionary > Make
sure CUSTOM.DIC is checked.

Step 2 
Click on Office Button | Word Options | Proofing | check the
"Check spelling as you type" and "Check grammar with spelling" boxes |
uncheck the "Hide spelling errors in this document only" and "Hide
grammar errors in this document only" boxes | OK.

Step 3 
Open a document that has this problem, press Ctrl+A to select all
of the text
Click on Review tab | Proofing: Set Language |
language> | uncheck the "Detect language automatically" and "Do not
check spelling or grammar" boxes | Default | OK.
Click on Office Button | Word Options | Proofing | check the
"Check spelling as you type" and "Check grammar with spelling" boxes |
uncheck the "Hide spelling errors in this document only" and "Hide
grammar errors in this document only" boxes | OK.

Step 4
In your Windows registry, if the key
"HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Proofing
Tools\1.0\Override" exists, delete it.

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Fix it: Recent Office Documents not showing on the list


Fix it: Recent Office Documents not showing on the list 

If you have an issue with your recent documents list in any office program and it goes missing or doesn’t work, or it does not appear as per normal. Please try the following : 

This is what I'm talking about :




Click start
Click run
Type in "Regedit"

Navigate to  HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
Create / Delete the DWORD entry called: NoRecentDocsHistory
A value of 1 will disable the Recent Documents list and 0 is to enable the list

It applies to Office 2002,Office 2003,Office 2007

Fix it: Send Via Email option is greyed out

"Send Via Email" option is greyed out

If you have an issue sending email from office word or office excel via the 'send via email option', here's what you can do :




Resolution

1. Close all programs.
2. Click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open box, and then click OK.
3. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows Messaging Subsystem
4. Locate the following registry values. Typically, these values are listed in the Windows Messaging Subsystem key.

Name Type Data
MAPI REG_SZ 1
CMC REG_SZ 1
CMCDLLNAME REG_SZ Mapi.dll
CMCDLLNAME32 REG_SZ Mapi32.dll
MAPIX REG_SZ 1
MAPIXVER REG_SZ 1.0.0.1
OLEMessaging REG_SZ 1

5. If any of these registry values are missing, follow these steps to add the values:

a. Click the Windows Messaging Subsystem subkey, point to New on the Edit menu, and then click String Value.
b. Type the name of the missing value, and then press ENTER.
c. Click the new value, and then click Modify on the Edit menu.
d. In the Edit String dialog box, type the correct value for the missing string value in the Value data box.
e. Repeat steps 6a - 6d for each value that is missing from the table that is in step 4.

6. On the File menu, click Exit.

Typically, Excel 2007, PowerPoint 2007, and Word 2007 display the correct e-mail options automatically when the required registry keys are present. If these programs do not display the e-mail options after you use the methods described here, add the e-mail options to these programs. To do this, follow these steps:

1. On the File menu, click Program Name Options.
2. Click Customization, and then click All commands in the Commands list.
3. Click the command that you want, and then click Add to add the command to the Quick Access toolbar. For example, click Send for Review, and then click Add to add the Send for Review command to the toolbar.
4. Click OK.